DISCLAIMER: I wanted to wait until I got my new digital camera to post pictures of our most lived in room, the living room, but my impatience would not allow it. The photos here were taken with my cell phone (no flash). I plan on replacing all photos once my camera arrives. Please don’t judge by the seemingly dark room.
 

The before

 

The Present!

This room is still in progress, as is the rest of our condo, but it’s come far since we first moved in to bare walls with no light whatsoever. (I’m very self conscious by the darkness of this photo, but it’s only the cell phone, I swear. We live in an abundance of light).

We waited for this couch for 6 weeks. Our living room is so oddly situated that I had some trouble arranging the furniture. Once I convinced my other half to make use of the “hall” by putting the tv against the far wall, it was decided that the couch must go against the window. I originally wanted a chaise sectional, wall to wall, U-shaped. But in our price range, it was impossible to find. The non-negotiable was that it had to be comfortable. I wanted to be able to lie down together and watch a movie without feeling squished or falling off the couch. This couch accomplishes just that. I take many a catnap here without suffering back problems. It is my favorite place in the condo and for only $600 (JCPenney Memorial Day sale), it really makes the room. The pillows are still TBD. I made the sofa pillows without pillowforms and learned the hard way how lumpy cotton stuffing can get. The large blue pillow on the right was intended to be a floor pillow, but I failed to accommodate for how much the thickness would subtract from the size.

The chairs are from Pier 1, also on sale for $130 each. They’re more about practicality and style than comfort.

The ladder “end tables” I ordered from Amazon for $60 each, and they are worth every penny. We didn’t need true end tables with such a large coffee table, and these add height and dimension to the room without wasting space.

The coffee table is from The Dump (Langhorne, Turnersville, and Oaks) and we stained it from a very light color that was almost identical to the couch, to a deep cherry oak.

The rug I made using 4 layers: Non-slip rubber rug pad, canvas, 2 inch thick batting, and soft, fuzzy fabric, all from Joann Fabric. It was one of the hardest things to date and my blood, sweat, and tears are in it. The seam really shows through the thick layers and it gives it a one-of-a-kind look (which it is).

Still on the to-do list: Drapes, Entertainment shelf under TV (not pictured, on wall opposite couch), Art over chairs

