My previous post about turning my laundry room into a pantry really got the ball rolling. It was something I’ve been thinking about since we moved in, but kept putting off for financial reasons as well as time consumption. Here are the ‘before’ (and current) photos, followed by a blueprint for the ‘after’:

It doesn’t look this bad all the time. With the transition from summer to fall the laundry has been flooding this room (although I can’t say the floor is always spotless either). The problem is we don’t have a laundry basket yet. It sounds like there would be a simple solution to this, but we also don’t have a place for it. I like a hidden hamper. Our rooms are too pretty to be spoiled by a basket of dirty clothes against the wall. Under the bathroom vanity would be possible, but that creates a new problem for my beauty products.

This room probably seemed like a great idea during the planning stages. It’s a small condo, so presumably for 1 or 2 people, room is only needed for a coat rack and extra linens. But this is our only storage in the unit.

We do have alot of towels, unnecessarily. We’ve acquired many over the years and why throw out a bath towel? We have the essentials for storage: baskets, shelves, hang bar. But we lack the necessities for change. I’m going to need to buy several more shelves for my plan, which are pretty inexpensive at the local Lowe’s.

These shelves proved satisfactory for a while (an old Walmart 9 cubby unit with the verticals removed). But if I plan on storing food and wine and opening up room in my kitchen for more gadgets and barware, a major change needs to happen. Here are the “blueprints”:

I have 4 feet across to work with, 2 feet in depth, and 9 feet in height. I plan on using the left for a pull out laundry basket with a shelf on top for detergents and fabric softeners. The coat rack and extra linens will also be on the left. The right will leave room for wine, food, winter accessories such as hats and gloves, bath tissue and paper towels, and workout gear. The bottom right will be a small shelf used as our own “mud room.” If room allows, we will also keep our biggest gadgets in here: a popcorn popper, juicer, and Magic Bullet blender. While browsing Lowe’s aisles last night, I discovered that RubberMaid has an interactive tool on their website where you can design your dream closet, and print out the shopping list. It doesn’t provide as much custom configuration as I would like, but still a neat tool for others. I will be making another trip to Lowe’s tonight and hopefully buying what I need this time.

