I want to take a moment to express the shock I am suffering from the prices of window treatments and decorative accents. I’ve never dressed a window before. Our last place together was a tiny little studio and was very temporary so drapes were not needed. My place before that was college housing…No explanation needed.

So I’ve tossed around the idea of buying fabric and creating my custom window treatments, but after all the “couture” I’ve added to the condo thus far, I thought it would be nice to run out real quick, pick up some curtains, and voila! our living room is dressed. Imagine my surprise when, whilst perusing JCPenney’s home section, I come across this beautiful display that would work in both my bedroom and living room, for upwards of $265, ON SALE.

So fine, this is a Cindy Crawford design and “versatile” per their website: JCPenney “Create your own look”, but I have 3 rooms that need dressing, 2 of much importance (I’m not as invested in the office just yet). But of course, I didn’t just give up. I figured, I’ll find some panels in these colors, and create my own version of the look. Afterall, most of these panels don’t even have pockets for the drapery rod. It is literally a hemmed piece of fabric. A long, beautiful, shiny, hemmed piece of fabric, but fabric nonetheless. In my search, the least expensive I have come across thus far is $10 per panel. Not even Home Goods could help a girl out! This look calls for 5 blue panels, 3 tan panels, and at least 2 sheer panels. That’s still $100. I get that window treatments are important and can make or break a room. But it’s fabric! Why is it this expensive??

I have been experiencing the same problem with throw pillows. I have a large tan couch that needs some pops of color. I plan on at least 4 accent pillows, preferably closer to 6, in addition to a throw blanket. At $20 a pop, this is getting outrageous! Why are small, slightly altered pieces of fabric so inflated in price?!

This is about 3 sq. feet of fabric. 1 yard. for $19.99 at Target. If I bought 1 yard of fabric at Joann’s, put 10 minutes of labor into making this pillow, I would have to charge $20 to turn a profit. But this fabric is being manufactured in bulk and I highly doubt it is being sewn by hand and taking anywhere close to 10 minutes per pillow. Highway robbery!

