Remember the before. Cluttered, messy, disorganized, and every other word that implies we moved in and threw everything in here that didn’t have room elsewhere.

The during:

The Present:

The shelves are from Lowe’s. It was (2) 9 ft shelves for $20 each, cut into several 2½ feet shelves. The brackets were $2.50 each.

 

The laundry basket is from Home Goods: $25. The shelf that is now resting on it will be mounted a foot higher and will hold laundry detergents. The towels will decrease in quantity and the lucky ones will be mounted on a shelf above the coat shelf seen below. The 3 drawer component is from Lowe’s for $12. Plenty of storage for a lost & found (whatever falls out of pockets in the washing machine), plastic bags, toilet paper, workout gear, umbrella & miscellaneous. I’m still looking for a space for the weights and yoga mat other than the floor.

Enough room for the 2 of us to hang our coats plus more for company. The scarves are kept above the coats and the 3rd shelf will go above the scarves with about 2 feet of room for the towels.

I’m still interested in painting this room to give it some more character, but I don’t want the white hardware to be obvious. It’s not exactlt high priority but I daydream about colors here and there.

I would also love to cover the water heater but I don’t know how safe that is nor do I know what I could cover it with as I’m not fond of cheap canvas-like curtains as room dividers. And luxurious, plush curtains wouldn’t really go here…

