These barstools were given to us by our dear friends G & L. They were too tall for our counters and a little plain for our decor, but fancy barstools can cost anywhere from $40 to $120 a piece. So  I used what I know. L’s dad was kind enough to chop off 5 inches (the man has every tool imaginable), making them the perfect height for our breakfast buffet (I like ample room to cross my legs). Main problem solved. Secondly, I wanted to add a seat cushion to dress them up a tad.

This is a fairly simple project:

First I laid the stools on top of batting and cut around. Make sure to leave enough room to staple.

Staple around perimeter before laying on top of fabric.Repeat stapling on fabric.

The fabric adds just the little bit of pizzazz I was looking for without detracting from the more focal furniture pieces in the room. I used the same blue micro suede on a floor pillow that rests a mere feet away (not pictured here). It ties the pieces together to avoid the random look that few people are fond of.

I love this cherry wood barstool found at CSN Stores for $78. We still have the red oak stain that we used on our coffee table, therefore the stools may get a little more dramatic in the near future.

If you have a bar in your home, you can save money on barstools by purchasing them used on craigslist or at a thrift store. With a little help from a staple gun and a trip to JoAnn’s, they’ll be brand new for much less.

