This instructional should have been posted weeks ago, but since it didn’t turn out how I had intended, or at all for that matter, I was too bitter to post before now.

Martha had a segment on her show about how to make these magazine Christmas trees, she was selling them for approximately $50 at her annual craft fair. It is a lengthy project and some of you may remember making these in elementary school. It’s something good to do with kids in your family, or while you’re on the couch watching TV. It took me an hour per tree to create these over 2 days.

I started with a rather thin Raymour & Flanigan catalog. I wasn’t about to attempt to fold 500 pages of O Magazine. I broke the spine to make the pages able to fill out all around, once folded.

Then I began folding. Starting with the corner, I folded all top corners down to meet the spine.

It looked like this before I started Step 2:

Then I tucked the folded edges in to meet the spine:

It began to get more robust and a little harder to fold since it refused to lay flat on the table while I folded remaining pages:

But I kept going. The third step is tuck the bottom corner that sticks out into the folds. This part is the most annoying:

The result of all that folding:

With 2 trees complete, I decided to spray paint them a shiny gold color. We set up this station in the hallway to minimize the mess:

But the stench was so powerful, we thought it was smart to take it outside. We were having friends over that night and we didn’t want people passing out from the fumes.

Unfortunately these are the only after shots we have, thanks to the cats and dogs that came raining down from the skies that night. Our better judgment told us to let these dry outside for a few hours. Apparently our judgment has nothing on Al Roker. If you decide to make these for the holiday or any other occasion, I wish you better luck than I had.

