I have become addicted to wallpapering furniture! I toyed around with the idea in my head for a while, wondering if it would be financially smart as well as a beautiful outcome. It has proved to be both. I bought the diamond checkered pattern on ebay for $10. I did the table top and drawers, and I also did my new vanity/bar, which needs another post entirely.

The table folded down to a tiny drink station

You may be able to tell that we haven’t solved the lighting solution in this room yet. I do plan on keeping it darker to add an ambient atmosphere, but as of now we just have a lamp plugged into the wall to add light when we painted.

We haven’t moved the bench out to paint behind there yet either. There’s no doubt that this room is only about 40% finished. I plan on adding some drapes to close it off a little, and throw some pillows together for the bench as well as new ones for the chairs.

We’re also at a standstill on the wall. The original plan was to stencil the fleur de lys onto the wall in a diagonal criss-cross pattern, but after we painted we started brainstorming other ideas. Maybe have frames of different shapes and sizes covering the back wall. Maybe thin gold stripes. Possibly leave as-is? To be determined..

I love this room as a lounge. The small trunk between the 2 Ikea chairs is from Home Goods. It’s perfect for setting down a drink or for a tray of appetizers. The room looks so bare in thie picture but once the drapes are up, the lighting is perfect, the bench has pillows, the walls are decorated, then voila! it will look wonderful. How is the smallest room the hardest to decorate?